How Many Questions Are on the Cosmetology Exam
Most cosmetology written exams run 100 to 110 total questions, but not every question counts: testing vendors mix in unscored “pretest” items that look identical to real questions and add extra time so they don’t cost you anything. Texas and California both use 100 scored questions plus 10 unscored pretest items (110 total, 120 minutes). Florida runs two separate 65-question exams instead of one. Pennsylvania’s combined written exam totals 135 items once you include its state-specific and pretest questions.
The reason the number moves is the same reason the format moves: each state’s testing vendor sets its own item count and time allowance, and a handful of states split what’s normally one written exam into two.
Why do some questions on your screen not count toward your score?
Pretest, or “pilot,” questions are new items testing vendors are trying out for future exam versions. They look and feel exactly like scored questions, they’re mixed in at random positions, and you’re given extra time specifically to answer them, but they aren’t identified and they aren’t counted toward your pass or fail result. Florida’s candidate booklet explains the logic directly: “the purpose of including pilot test questions… is to expand and improve the bank of questions from which future examinations will be drawn,” and if candidates could tell which ones were pilot items, “many candidates would skip them, and the results would not be valid” (Florida DBPR Cosmetology Candidate Information Booklet). Practically, this means you should answer every question the same way, since you have no way of knowing which ones are scored.
What’s the exact question count by state?
| State/vendor | Scored questions | Pretest/unscored | Total shown | Time allowed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Texas (PSI) | 100 | 10 | 110 | 120 min scored + 10 min pretest |
| California, Cosmetologist license (PSI) | 100 | 10 | 110 | 120 min |
| California, Barber license (PSI) | 85 | 10 | 95 | 120 min |
| California, Esthetician license (PSI) | 75 | 10 | 85 | 90 min |
| Florida, Written Theory (Pearson VUE) | 65 | not disclosed | 65 + pilot items | 90 min |
| Florida, Written Clinical (Pearson VUE) | 65 | not disclosed | 65 + pilot items | 90 min |
| Pennsylvania (Pearson VUE) | 110 (100 general + 10 state-specific) | 25 (20 general + 5 state-specific) | 135 | 2 hr 15 min |
Texas and California figures come from PSI’s own candidate bulletins (PSI Texas Cosmetology CIB; California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology). Florida’s counts are from its DBPR candidate booklet, which confirms pilot questions exist but doesn’t publish how many, only that additional time is added to cover them (Florida DBPR CIB). Pennsylvania’s breakdown, including the state-specific item block, comes from its official candidate handbook table (Pennsylvania Cosmetology Candidate Handbook).
Why does California’s count change by license type?
California runs one national exam program across several license types, and PSI sets a different scored-item count for each: 100 for cosmetologist, 85 for barber, 75 for esthetician, 60 for manicurist, 50 for electrologist, and 50 for hairstylist, each with its own pretest count and time limit (California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology). If you’re licensing for a narrower scope, like manicuring alone, expect a shorter, smaller exam than the full cosmetologist test, not a scaled-down version of the same 110-item exam.
How many tasks are on the practical exam, if your state requires one?
Practical exams are scored by task and point value rather than by question count. Texas’s practical, for example, is worth 119 total points spread across roughly ten timed sections, from a 4-point pre-exam disinfection section up to a 42-minute haircut section worth 9 points, and you need 84 of those 119 points (70%) to pass (PSI Texas Cosmetology CIB). That’s a fundamentally different scoring structure than the written exam’s simple item count, since a candidate can lose points within a section (missing one procedure step) without failing that section outright, depending on how many points the missed step was worth.
Does a longer exam mean a harder one?
Not necessarily. Pennsylvania’s 135-item written exam is longer than Texas’s 110-item exam mostly because it folds a 25-item pretest block and a 10-item state law component into the same sitting, not because the tested content is deeper. A better predictor of difficulty than raw item count is how the passing score is calculated, since a 65-question exam with a 75% scaled passing threshold and a 110-question exam with a 70% raw passing threshold aren’t directly comparable just by looking at question totals.
Run a free practice quiz through PassCosmo sized close to your state’s real item count, so pacing on exam day isn’t the first time you’ve worked through that many questions in one sitting.
For every state’s exact written and practical item breakdown side by side, our free state board study guide includes a full-length timed practice test built to match real exam pacing.
FAQ
How many questions are on the cosmetology written exam? It depends on the state. Texas and California’s cosmetologist exams run 100 scored questions plus 10 unscored pretest items (110 total). Florida runs two separate 65-question exams instead of one combined test. Pennsylvania’s combined exam totals 135 items once pretest and state-specific questions are included.
Do unscored pretest questions count against me? No. Pretest, or pilot, questions are mixed in to test future exam content and don’t count toward your pass or fail result. You’re given extra time to answer them, and since they’re not identified, the safest approach is answering every question as if it counts.
Is the practical exam scored by number of questions too? No. Practical exams are scored by task and point value. Texas’s practical exam, for example, is worth 119 total points across roughly ten timed sections rather than a fixed number of questions.
Why does California’s cosmetology exam have a different question count than its barber exam? Because California licenses several scopes of practice separately under the same national exam program, and PSI sets a different scored-item count and time limit for each: 100 for cosmetologist, 85 for barber, 75 for esthetician, and fewer for narrower licenses like manicuring or electrology.
Does a bigger question count mean a harder exam? Not on its own. Question count reflects how a state’s vendor structured that specific exam, sometimes bundling pretest or state-law items into the total, more than it reflects the depth of content being tested. The passing score calculation matters more for difficulty than the raw item count.
Sources checked at the time of writing: PSI’s Texas Cosmetology Operator License Examination Candidate Information Bulletin, effective January 1, 2026 (test-takers.psiexams.com); the California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology’s examination information page (barbercosmo.ca.gov); Florida DBPR’s Cosmetology Licensure Examinations Candidate Information Booklet, effective February 2026 (myfloridalicense.com); and the Pennsylvania Cosmetology Candidate Handbook via Pearson VUE, February 2026 (pearsonvue.com).